Nonimmigrant Visas

The Consular Sections of the U.S. Consulates General in Johannesburg, Durban and Cape Town are responsible for providing visa services to those seeking to enter the United States for a temporary period. Those wishing to take up indefinite or permanent residence in the United States will be processed at the U.S. Consulate General in Johannesburg. There is no Consular Section at the U.S. Embassy in Pretoria.

Please visit our Global Support Services (GSS) website for complete information on applying for a nonimmigrant U.S. visa, including a directory of nonimmigrant visa categories.

To contact a customer service representative, please visit the GSS Contact Us page for full information or use contact information below:

  • Email: To reach a customer service representative via email, please write to
  • Telephone: Please contact a customer service representative using one of these telephone numbers:
    • Callers in South Africa: Call +27 (0)87 550 2160.
    • Callers in the United States: Call 1.703.988.7092

    Skype: To use Skype to speak to a customer service representative during regular hours of operation, add a new contact to your Skype account with the Skype name skype-za_1

Diplomats, Government Representatives, Embassy Personnel, NATO Personnel

Diplomatic (A), International Organization (G) and NATO visas are issued to diplomats and other government officials for travel to the United States. Generally, the type of visa required by a diplomat or other government official depends upon their purpose of travel to the United States. There are very specific requirements that must be met by applicants to qualify for an A, G, or NATO visa, under U.S. immigration law.

Most diplomatic passport holders and people applying for official visas are exempt from the MRV fee. Applicants applying for these visa categories should NOT USE THIS VISA INFORMATION SERVICE CENTER because the MRV fee is nonrefundable, even if paid in error.

Provincial and municipal officials do not qualify for A or G visas, but may qualify for a diplomatic type visitor’s visa (B1/B2) if they possess a diplomatic passport.

For the most up-to-date information, South African government officials should consult with the Department of International Relations and Cooperation’s protocol directorate at +27 12 351 0812.

For additional information on Diplomatic and Official visas visit

For additional information on NATO visas visit

Diplomats, government representatives, Embassy personnel, IO and NATO personnel must submit their applications directly to the nearest U.S. Consulate during protocol hours.  Please contact the relevant Consulate for their protocol hours.

To receive specific information on how to initiate this process, please contact the Consular Section where the traveler plans to apply at: