U.S. Embassy Pretoria

The United States Diplomatic Mission to South Africa

This Mission includes approximately 310 U.S. and 560 locally engaged staff employed by 28 U.S. Government departments and agencies. In addition to the Embassy in Pretoria, there are Consulates in Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban.

Many U.S. Government departments, such as the Foreign Commercial Service, the Department of Homeland Security, Department of Health and Human Services, Overseas Foreign Disaster Assistance and Food for Peace have based their regional operations in South Africa, reflecting the facilities and services available in South Africa.

The United States and South African are major trade and investment partners. South Africa is currently our 38th largest goods trading partner with $14.0 billion in total (two way) goods trade during 2018. The U.S. goods trade deficit with South Africa was $3.0 billion in 2018. South Africa qualifies for preferential trade benefits under the African Growth and Opportunity Act. More than 600 U.S. firms operate in South Africa contributing to approximately 10% of the country’s GDP.

U.S. foreign direct investment (FDI) in South Africa (stock) was $7.3 billion in 2017, a 10.1% increase from 2016. U.S. direct investment in South Africa is led by manufacturing, professional, scientific, and technical services, and wholesale trade.

The US Embassy regularly sponsors workshops on entrepreneurialism , small and medium business management and financial planning for businesses.

The U.S. Mission provides services:

  • We represent the people of the United States, and the U.S. Government and its policies.
  • We protect and promote U.S. interests, such as the safety and welfare of U.S. citizens in South Africa.
  • We encourage and facilitate trade between the U.S. and South Africa.
  • We sponsor educational exchanges, and counsel students seeking to enroll at U.S. universities.
  • We issue visas for travel to the U.S.
  • We support South Africa through partnership programs in a number of areas including health, education, economic development, agriculture, combating terrorism, building democracy and helping to assure regional stability.