About the Fulbright Program

THE FULBRIGHT PROGRAM is the flagship international education exchange program sponsored by the United States government, and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.  The Fulbright Program attracts some of the greatest minds and talents in the world who share many attributes, amongst them a passion for innovation and collaboration.  The Fulbright Program operates in over 160 countries worldwide.  Approximately 8 000 grants are awarded annually.  Since its inception in 1946 approximately 360 000 “Fulbrighters” have participated in the program.

serve in leadership positions in government, academia, business, the arts, science journalism, and other professional fields and are the recipients of 53 NOBEL PRIZES, 88 PULITZER PRIZES, 29 MACARTHUR FOUNDATION AWARDS, and 16 US PRESIDENTIAL MEDALS OF FREEDOM.

provides participants, chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential, with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.  These programs are open to people regardless of their race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, geographic location, socio-economic status, disability, sexual orientations, or gender identity.

The Fulbright Program is active in approximately 35 countries throughout Sub-Saharan Africa, and is an important element in the U.S. government’s public diplomacy efforts in the region.  Grants are awarded annually to African visiting students and research scholars, and U.S. scholars and students to strengthen both U.S. and African institutions, enhance political and cultural relationships, and build bridges of understanding.

The first South African to receive a Fulbright Award
was back in 1953.  By 2014, approximately 2100 South African students and scholars had received grants to pursue studies and research in the United States.  Recipients of the various Fulbright Grants came from Government Ministries, Business Sectors, Higher Education Departments and Institutions, The Arts, as well as National Research Institutions.